Welcome! The Stratford Poetry Society is Online!

When the suggestion came to me that I should start a local Poetry Society I was a little overwhelmed.  First of all, I’m not sure I am worth.  I don’t think I am that good as a  poet, and second of all, I’m not sure anyone cares.  I love poetry, it’s my favoured form of expression, however, I don’t really know any poets in real life and thought maybe there weren’t any in this area.

I was assured however that poets live among us, disguised as mothers, teachers, accountants, athletes, high school students.  I was told that they often mix with the general population and look  just the same as regular humans but secretly they are, or have been, or want to be, poets.

So with great humility I introduce you to the Stratford Poetry Society!  The purpose of the society is provide a place for the poets that live in secret and those who have declared themselves poets as well,  have the opportunity to share their art with the world in a new forum.  We are looking for the poets of Stratford, Ontario and the surrounding area!

The best artists are often those who do not know they are creating art.  And poetry is art with words.  So if you are interested in being a part of this endeavor please feel free to leave a comment, anonymous is fine.  In the future we will be offering classes and possible informal poetry writing sessions and reading opportunities.  But for now, dig through those boxes of old poetry you wrote in high school, collect poetry from your students or simply pick up your pencil and start writing poetry.  We want the poets among us to stand tall and proud of their words and rhymes and art on paper! 

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

