Treasure Hunt!

I’ve been involved in a lot of online forums and it’s been fantastic, working with and learning from some of the most creative and talented people from all over the world.  But like many of them, the craving for involvement by real live people who share the creative urge, the love of poetry, who live in their dreams and write on napkins and odd bits of paper,  images that move them, propelled by a mysterious force to do so, is overwhelming!

Wow..now that’s a run on sentence!

That was my first purpose in starting this endeavor.  To find some people like me.  It’s lonely, particularly if you are starting or restarting your life as a writer.

But there is a second reason.

Back when I was younger, there was no encouragement.  It had nothing to do with talent, people always admired my talent, my stuff was published, talked about however it was just a hobby.  There were no jobs for poets.  So when a real job came along, the poet was buried because life is busy and I had to live a difficult one, there was money to be made and children to be raised.

But you can only kill an artist with a spade. 

And then, still, their spirit creates their art. 

I avoided the spade, having only been in a box for a while.  I’ve broken free. So I start again.  Reading the old stuff, writing new crap, reading fiction again, starting a novel, stalling, starting a new one, it’s coming along and will be finished! 

And I must admit I that I wrote some shit back in the day!  But at least I was writing.  I was writing crap but I was writing! 

And every so often I find, in my old boxes, a line, a piece of prose, a thought or image, and it stops me, and amazes me…I wrote that!  I’m looking for those treasures from YOU!

Out there, in the community there are boxes, treasures, papers, writers, artist, people who have gems, people who are gems.  People who don’t shine because they were discouraged not to, didn’t think they were good enough or denied their own genius based solely on the fact that it is theirs.  People who didn’t say “When I grew up I want to be a poet” because such a declaration would be laughed at. 

Submit your work to the anthology.  Do it secretly if you’re shy.  But do it!  It doesn’t cost anything  and there is everything to be gained. 

And join.  The Poetry Society.  This is for you.  And for me because I want to know you.  But mostly this is for  you!

Thank you to those who have submitted already!  The guidelines are at the  left side under the Submission heading! 

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

